2014 Celebrating Excellence Awards Program Winners Announced

We are pleased to announce the following 2014 Celebrating Excellence Awards Program winners:


Last Name    First Name    Title                               Facility

Canwell         Jasmine         CNA, II                             MaineGeneral – Glenridge
Lavigne         Albert             CNA/CNA-M                     MEVETS – Scarborough
Sukeforth      Edna              CNA II                              Cove’s Edge
Thornton       Allyson           RN                                   St. Andre Health Care
Nutting           Ashley            CNA                                Sandy River Center
Maxheimer    Mark              CNA                                  Odd Fellows
Coolbroth      Jean               MDS Coordinator            Durgin Pines
Deering         Michelle         CNA                                 Greenwood Center
Burns             Julie              Support Team Worker     Barron Center
Pierce           Rattiya           Food Service Worker      Aroostook Health Center
Meservey      Linda              CNA                                 Quarry Hill
McPhee        Elizabeth        CNA                                 Varney Crossing
Black             Shannon        Service representative    Quarry Hill
King               Sandy            CNA/CRMA                     Gorham House
Wright           Sonya            Ward Clerk                      Oak Grove Center
Poole            Dorothy         Laundry/Housekeeping    Stillwater Healthcare
Foster           Kristine          CRMA/PSS                      Fallbrook Woods

Program                                                                                         Facility

St. Andre’s Camp Waban experience                    St. Andre Health Care Facility
Resident Facility Garden                                        Cedar Ridge Center
Gazebo Project                                                     Marshall Healthcare
An Open House Program                                       Durgin Pines
Residents Need a Purpose! Scholarship fund       Gorham House
Innovative Activity Programming for Seniors          Clover Health Care
Spa Days                                                                Collier’s Rehab and Nursing


National Quality Award Winners – Silver:

Maine Veterans’ Home – Machias
Maine Veterans’ Home – Scarborough
Maine Veterans’ Homes – South Paris

National Quality Award Winners – Bronze:

Marshall Healthcare, LLC, Machias
Lakewood, A Continuing Care Center, Waterville
MaineGeneral Rehabilitation and Long Term Care at Gray Birch, Augusta
Collier’s Rehab and Nursing Center, Ellsworth
The Inn at City Hall, Augusta
Katahdin Health Care, Millinocket
Clover Living Center, Auburn
MaineGeneral Rehab and Long Term Care at Glenridge
The Alzheimer’s Care Center – MaineGeneral Health

All winners will be recognized during the Celebrating Excellence Awards Luncheon on Friday, September 26, 2014 at the Augusta Civic Center from 9:30 am to 2:30 pm.  MHCA is pleased to announce that our keynote address will be given by David Farrell, MSW, LNHA – Senior Director of the GREEN HOUSE® Project. Farrell is a licensed nursing home administrator who has spent his entire career in the long-term care profession. In the 25 years he has served as a nursing home administrator and regional director of operations, David has advocated for patient-centered care using quality improvement practices. A published author and member of the Board of Directors at the Pioneer Network, his award winning book, “Meeting the Leadership Challenge in LTC: What You Do Matters!” co-authored with Barbara Frank and Cathie Brady, has received widespread acclaim.  Currently, David is the Senior Director of The Green House Project where he helps spread the Green House Model across the U.S.

Additional event details will be forthcoming soon.

Congratulations one and all!
Nadine L. Grosso, Vice President and Director of Communications

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>