Consumer Information - LTC Facility Descriptions/Program Definitions

Nursing Facility or Skilled Nursing Facility:

Facility primarily engaged in providing skilled nursing care and related services for residents who require medical or nursing care, rehabilitation services or health-related care and services above the level of room and board.

Intermediate Care Facility:

Facility that provides services to residents with mental retardation.  These facilities may be group homes or nursing homes.  In both settings, residents receive coordination of health treatment, rehabilitation and habilitation services.  These group homes provide 24-hour non-nursing supervision, while these nursing homes provide at least 8 hours per day of licensed nurse supervision.

Assisted Housing Programs:

The State of Maine adopted new regulations on September 1, 2003 which provide revised definitions and levels of assisted living, independent housing with services, and residential care services, all under the umbrella term of Assisted Housing.  The new information follows:

Assisted Living Program:

Assisted living programs provide a comprehensive array of support services to consumers in private apartments in buildings that include a common dining area.  These programs may include meal delivery, housekeeping and chore assistance and case management.  These programs also provide medication administration directly or indirectly.

Independent Housing with Services:

Independent housing with services are almost identical to assisted living programs. They serve consumers in private apartments in buildings that include common dining area. Like assisted living programs, they assist consumers with ADLs and IADLs. The major difference between the two is that independent housing with services does not offer medication administration or nursing services.   

Residential Care Facilities:

Facility provides assisted housing and assistance with activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily living.  For the purposes of this Directory, the following are definitions of the various levels of residential care:  

  • A Level I facility cares for 1-2 residents.  
  • A Level II/III facility cares for 3-6 residents.
  • A Level III may also be an adult family care home (see definition below).
  • A Level IV facility cares for 7 or more residents.

Please note that a PNMI-designation indicates that the facility accepts MaineCare, also known as Medicaid.

Home Health Agencies/Services:

A public agency or private organization, or sub-division thereof, which provides skilled nursing services and at least one other therapeutic service in the home of the client.  Services are rendered based on a physician’s orders.

Adult Day Service Programs:

Program of care, therapeutic activities and supervision maintained or provided on a regular basis in a private dwelling or facility for any part of a day.

Adult Family Care Homes:

Residences where 5 or fewer people who meet medical eligibility requirements live in a homelike setting and receive personal care and supervision.