AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards Program

The American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living encourages member nursing centers and assisted living facilities to participate in this distinctive awards program built on the principles of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Health Care Criteria. If you have any questions about the National Quality Awards program, please contact Danielle Watford of MHCA. For technical questions, such as obtaining username and password, obtaining or questions about past applications submitted from your center and online submission help, please contact the AHCA Quality Award Team. *The application status and application history are strictly confidential between your center and AHCA/NCAL.

MHCA members are committed to these awards, as proven by the significant number of each award level earned to date:

Bronze - Commitment to Quality: 14
Silver - Achievement in Quality: 7
Gold - Excellence in Quality: 2

Click here to read a list of this year's Bronze/Silver Award recipients.
Click here to read a list of this year's Silver Award recipients.

2019 Applications Available Now!

AHCA/NCAL Quality Award Portal Click here to get started today.

2019 Program Deadlines

Intent to Apply: November 8th, 2018
Application Deadline: January 31, 2019 (All deadlines are at 8pm EST)

Recertification Policy

In 2014, AHCA/NCAL introduced a new recertification policy that affect all the current and past recipients. Under this policy, Bronze and Silver Quality Award recipients will have a limited amount of time to apply for the next award level (Silver or Gold) before being designated as a “past recipient” of the award, a status that requires the center to reapply at the Bronze level if it decides to participate in the program again. For centers that received a Quality Award prior to 2014 but have not yet submitted the application for the next level, applications for the next level must be submitted by the year 2017. If the award recipient did not apply by the 2017 deadline, the center will become a past recipient and must restart from the Bronze Award level.

Quality Award Support Calls

MHCA annually provides remote weekly support calls for any facility across the state interested in or pursuing the AHCA/NCAL Bronze, Silver and Gold National Quality Awards. These support calls are led by MHCA's Danielle Watford, an AHCA/NCAL Quality Award Senior Examiner. MHCA suggests centers consider participating on these calls, which can result in a better application, greater understanding of the foundational elements of quality in your center, and enhanced excitement as your center engages in the program.

AHCA/NCAL Applicant Resources

Bronze Applicants: Bronze Award Resource Page
Silver Applicants: Silver Award Resource Page
Gold Applicants: Gold Award Resource Page

AHCA/NCAL Recipient Resources

AHCA/NCAL offers recipient resources by award level, such as logos, planning guides and template press releases. Recipients also may purchase customized Quality Award banners with center names.

Staff Contact: 
Danielle Watford
Director of Quality Improvement & Regulatory Affairs